top of page

Market overview for 2012

The Company’s position in the industry

In 2012, the ALROSA Group retained its position as the global leader in the extraction of natural diamonds by volume. The volume of diamonds extracted has remained stable over the past three years, and in 2012 totalled 34.4 million carats. Thus, the Group accounted for 27% of global diamond extraction by volume.

Volume of diamonds extracted by the industry’s main players in 2010-12, millions of carats

The state of the diamond market in 2012

The global diamond industry has traditionally revolved around two major centres: Belgium and India. Most of the worlds’ rough diamonds are transported to Antwerp (Belgium), where they are sold to diamond traders or to diamond-polishers. Most of the unpolished diamonds are then moved on from Belgium to India, the world centre for diamond-polishing.

Volume of rough diamonds exported out of Belgium, millions of carats

Total value of rough diamonds exported out of Belgium, billions of USD

Trends in prices for rough diamonds exported out of Belgium and for polished diamonds exported out of India

Analysis of the statistics for the export of rough diamonds from Belgium highlights trends in the global trade of natural unpolished diamonds. Over the past three years there has been a downward trend in the volume of rough diamonds exported from Belgium. By value, the volume of diamonds exported increased by 31% in 2011, due to strong growth of prices for rough diamonds. In 2012, the total value of diamonds exported from Belgium fell by 6%.

The state of the global diamond market is generally characterised by the price indices for rough diamonds exported from Belgium and polished diamonds exported from India.

In 2011 average prices for rough diamonds exported out of Belgium grew faster (+55%) than average prices for polished diamonds exported from India (+14%). As a result, the diamond industry suffered from an imbalance that led to a fall in demand for rough diamonds in 2012.

In the course of 2012, prices for rough diamonds exported from Belgium fell (-4%), while prices for polished diamonds exported from India rose (+16%). Thus, in 2012 a tendency started on the diamond market towards restoration of balance between the prices of rough and polished diamonds.

Volume of rough diamonds exported out of Belgium, millions of carats.

вверх

Обзор рынка в 2012 году

Положение компании в отрасли

В 2012 году Группа «АЛРОСА» сохранила позицию мирового лидера по добыче природных алмазов в натуральном выражении. Добыча алмазов оставалась стабильной последние три года и в 2012 году составила 34,4 млн карат. Таким образом, на долю группы пришлось 27 % от мировой алмазодобычи в натуральном выражении.

Добыча алмазов основными игроками отрасли в 2010-2012 гг., млн карат

Состояние алмазно-бриллиантового рынка в 2012 году

В мировой алмазной отрасли исторически сложились два крупнейших центра: Бельгия и Индия. Большая часть добываемого в мире алмазного сырья попадает в Антверпен (Бельгия), где оно реализуется алмазным дилерам либо огранщикам. Из Бельгии основная часть необработанных природных алмазов поступает в Индию — мировой ограночный центр.

Экспорт алмазного сырья из Бельгии, млн карат

Экспорт алмазного сырья из Бельгии, млн долл. США

Динамика индексов цен на экспортируемое из Бельгии алмазное сырье и экспортируемые из Индии бриллианты

Анализ экспортной статистики алмазного сырья из Бельгии характеризует тенденции мирового рынка торговли природными необработанными алмазами. В течение последних трех лет динамика экспорта алмазного сырья из Бельгии в натуральном выражении характеризуется снижением. В стоимостном выражении объем вывезенных алмазов вырос на 31 % в 2011 году за счет сильного роста цен на алмазное сырье. В 2012 году стоимость алмазов, экспортированных из Бельгии, снизилась на 6 %.

Состояние мирового алмазно-бриллиантового рынка в целом характеризуется индексами цен на экспортируемое из Бельгии алмазное сырье и экспортируемые из Индии бриллианты.

В 2011 году средние цены на алмазное сырье, экспортируемое из Бельгии, росли быстрее (+55 %), чем средние цены вывозимых из Индии бриллиантов (+14 %). В результате в алмазно-бриллиантовом секторе возник дисбаланс, приведший к снижению спроса на алмазное сырье в 2012 году.

В течение 2012 года цены на экспортируемое из Бельгии алмазное сырье снизились (-4 %) при одновременном росте цен на экспортируемые из Индии бриллианты (+16 %). Таким образом, на алмазно-бриллиантовом рынке в 2012 году наметилась тенденция к восстановлению равновесия между стоимостью алмазного сырья и бриллиантов.